• Site Maintenance in progress; pardon our dust!

Where to start?

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to the otherkin community and considering the possibility that I may identify as nonhuman. While I have had times where I've distinctly thought and said stuff like, "I don't feel human," and "I don't feel like I belong here (as in on earth)," I don't know what I am. It was suggested that I do research and soul-searching. I have no idea where to start. I saw some other people post to the forum asking for advice on discovering their kin type. If I described myself, would members be willing to give me suggestions that I can look into, at least to start?

Hey, I’d be glad to help.

I’d suggest keeping a journal to write down anything you think may be non-human throughout the day, be it a dream, a shift, a mannerism, or anything else. You should start seeing a few things that repeat or a pattern that arises and it could give you insight into what you may be.

As for describing yourself and getting suggestions, I’m sure there’d be people willing to help. It’s not uncommon that people make threads like that, at least not from what I’ve seen. So, go ahead! It’d definitely be a good place to get started.

At the end of the day, it’s alright if you don’t know what your kin type is or if you end up at a wrong conclusion. Some people take years to figure out their types and some people plain don’t have a type (there’s one for their and where you chalk up your identity to just being animalistic, I can’t remember the specific term and I’m sure there’s something like that for others in too). Just be patient and don’t be discouraged, it’ll take time.

Anyway, I wish you luck on your journey of self discovery and I’ll try help you out if you need it.

Red-in-Tooth

Machairodont Felid
VIP